What is the Funeral Rule?
The Funeral Rule, a consumer protection law in place since 1984, requires funeral homes to give consumers printed, itemized price lists and disclosures at the very beginning of any funeral arrangements discussion. This rule is enforced by the FTC and our National FCA office was instrumental in getting this rule passed.
2. Is identity theft of a deceased person's identity an issue to be concerned about?
Yes, and to prevent identity theft of a deceased person, a copy of the death certificate should be sent to one of the following credit bureaus:
Equifax P.O. Box 105139 Atlanta GA 30348-5139
Transunion P.O. Box 2000 Chester, PA 19016
Experian P.O. Box 4500 Allen, TX 75013
3. Is embalming is required in the state of Texas?
No. There are very few instances when embalming may be desirable/required, i.e. transport of a body to another state for burial or a significant delay in burial. Instead of embalming, dry ice can be used.
4. What is the difference between funeral homes?
They are all licensed by the state of Texas and provide the same services--the big difference is price. Our members pay $575.00 for a direct cremation--while other funeral homes are charging over $1,000. Additionally, other options are discounted for our members at the contracted funeral home.
Joining the Funeral Consumers Alliance is the best way to prepare for end-of-life planning in a sound financial way. You should make a budget--know what you can afford for a funeral/cremation and not spend more than you can afford.